Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Dead New World Book Review + a Giveaway

Happy Tuesday Readers! I hope you are having an excellent week so far and your Tuesday is treating you splendidly! Today I wanted to share another fun book with you and share my thoughts on the book as well.  

About the Book:

When the the leader of a powerful cult kidnaps the woman Holt loves, he teams up with his best friend to save her from a fate worse than death.


Fans of Jonathan Maberry's ROT & RUIN and AMC's hit series, The Walking Dead will devour Hill's action ­packed take on the Zombie genre. DEAD NEW WORLD is now available at Amazon and Curiosity Quills. Get to know more about Ryan in this exclusive letter to readers

DEAD NEW WORLD

Zombies aren’t mindless anymore.

Before the world fell into chaos, the undead existed only in the imagination. Now, more of them walk the earth than living. Zombies move about freely, while humans entomb themselves inside concrete barricades to stay alive. 

All that, while the leader of a powerful cult - known only as Reverend - becomes the next threat to the rebuilding United States. Believing zombies to be God’s latest creation, making humanity obsolete, he wants to give every man, woman, and child the chance to become one. With his combined army of humans and zombies, he may well get his wish.

Best friends Holt and Ambrose went up against the Reverend once. Holt lost a foot and a zombie bit Ambrose…though he survived the virus, only to become a human-zombie hybrid, reviled by the living and unwelcome among the dead. When the Reverend kidnaps the woman Holt loves, the race is on to save her from a fate worse than death.


My Thoughts:

I want to preface this review with this fact: I really do not like zombie anything.  Yet, somehow, I found myself having a hard time putting this zombie-fied story down.  Told from the perspective of Holt, the reader is taken on, what feels, a wild and almost out of this world adventure.

The story starts out by giving the reader some background information about the leading men - two best friends in the military working to protect the humans from the zombies.  On the first mission the reader sees, both Holt and Ambrose are injured - Holt losing his leg and Ambrose bitten by a zombie.

Fast forward to a few years later and the reader is taken on this ride with Holt and Ambrose as they go on a mission to save the "damzel" and Holt's love, Nancy.  However, that is not the only reason for their mission, Ambrose wants to get revenge on the man who turned him into a monster: The Reverend.  The rest of the story is all about their missions, and that is where I will end it as I do not want to give anything else away *wink*.  

If you are looking for an action packed, zombie-filled, sitting on the edge of your seat, great read, then this is the book for you! 


About the Author:

Ryan Hill
Growing up, Ryan Hill used to spend his time reading and writing instead of doing homework. This resulted in an obsession with becoming a writer, but also a gross incompetence in the fields of science and mathematics. A graduate of North Carolina State University, Ryan has been a film critic for over five years. He lives in Raleigh, NC, with his dog/shadow Maggie. Ryan also feels strange about referring to himself in the third person.

Connect with Ryan at: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | GoodReads | Tumblr | Instagram






Giveaway Time:


Want a copy of the book?

Get it here!

{KEEP UP WITH THE TOUR BY STOPPING BY ONE OF THESE FABULOUS SITES}










11 comments:

  1. This sounds really interesting! I've been getting into zombie things more after becoming a Walking Dead fan :).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You know, I'm not usually a Zombie fan, but this book was written so well that I had no issue looking past the zombies

      Delete
  2. Sounds like a really interesting book. I'm not much into zombies, however, that seems to be the thing these days.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm not a fan of zombies either....but if you aren't, then maybe I could get passed them too!

    ReplyDelete
  4. We are big zombie apocalypse preppers lol so this would be a big bit at our house!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Perfect time of year to read a good zombie story!!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I wish he'd come to The Last Bookstore in L.A.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Replies
    1. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I'm really hoping he comes out with a second book after this one!

      Delete
  8. This looks like a book that my sister would really like and I can't wait to get it for her. Thanks

    ReplyDelete

Glad you stopped by! Please share your thoughts with me and I will do my best to respond ASAP!