Tuesday, October 7, 2014

End of Normal by SC Arscott + a Giveaway

Happy Tuesday Readers! I hope all is well! 

I am so excited because I have been working with Jackie at Barclay Publicity for the opportunity to read and review some new and upcoming books and today I get to share one those books with you! I am also excited because I am participating in my first ever book tour! Not to mention the $20 Amazon gift card giveaway! There is all kinds of exciting things going on around here, huh? 



About the Book:

Sometimes what you think is normal, is anything but.


Told in the vein of Susan Pfeiffer’s LIFE AS WE KNOW IT and Courtney Summers’ THIS IS NOT A TEST, this new YA novel will appeal to fans of Sci-Fi both young and old. END OF NORMAL is now available at Amazon and Champagne Books. Get to know more about Susan in this exclusive letter to readers...

End of Normal

16-year-old Olivia Richards’ last day of normal is simply that, normal. She spends her entire pre-school morning dressing to impress gorgeous guy Sawyer Rising, the hottest guy in high school. She argues with her mother about her skinny jeans being too tight, which Olivia considers ridiculous because isn’t that the point of skinny jeans? Sometimes her mother makes no sense. Olivia’s normal world also includes her gentle astrophysicist father and her twin brother Charlie, who is deaf. Despite proclaiming that his deafness is no big deal, deep inside Olivia feels it is a big deal and that it’s her duty to protect him.  

Olivia’s normal ends that night when strange lights shoot out of the sky and turn into stinging drones, killing their parents, or at least they think their parents die, but do they? Forced to flee, the twins join forces with friends Axel, Clara, and Sawyer, to search for answers to the strange invasion. Discovering a conspiracy to hide the location of a second earth, they search for a way to stop the destruction of their world.


My Thoughts:

If I had to sum this book up in two words they would be: enticing and suspenseful.  Within the first ten pages of the book, Arscott leads you to believe that something exciting and potentially harmful is going to happen to Olivia and those around her, but she does not give you any hint until the event is right upon you.

While reading this book, I found myself feeling like I was in Olivia's shoes - thinking her thoughts, feeling her pain, expressing her emotions.  I wanted to be there, to work with Olivia, Axel, Clara, Charlie and Sawyer to figure exactly how and why these aliens are invading their homes and to find out who is responsible.

Through the twists and turns of the book, Arscott develops the characters both in maturity and in complexity - and we even see a little romance blooming between two of the main characters ( and no I will not say who is involved). 

The only downside of the book is that it ends open ended - we find out the truth behind who is responsible for the invasion, but we do not know with 100% certainty what is going to happen to Olivia and her friends.  In my mind, this means that Arscott is going to write a sequel to End of Normal and I really hope that she does.  


About the Author:

SC Arscott

Susan worked as a high school teacher until she thought her head would explode from all the ideas and questions her students asked. Thinking it would be easier; she foolishly switched from teaching to the ridiculous job of professional fundraiser. After spending more years than she wants to admit begging strangers for money, she gathered what pride she had left and enrolled in Spalding University’s MFA program where she became blissfully happy working with other writers and improving her writing. She currently lives and writes in Seabrook, Texas with her husband Mike, Vlad the cat, and their deaf dog Chester.
My first YA novel, END OF NORMAL, will be available October 6, 2014 by Champagne Books and can be purchased through any online bookstore. I am in the process of developing a new, and much better website, but until it’s ready, you can check out my current, rather pitiful site. It has my bi-weekly blog and books I’m working on. My new site will be much better, so bookmark my web address and check back in a few weeks.

Connect with SC Arscott:



Giveaway Time:



Missed the giveaway? No problem, you can get the book still!



{KEEP UP WITH THE TOUR BY STOPPING BY ONE OF THESE FABULOUS SITES}


Oct 6th:   Corazones Literarios
Oct 7th:   Coffee Books & Art
Oct 8th:   Run with Jackabee 
Oct 9th:   Romance Junkies 
Oct 10th: StoreyBook Reviews 
Oct 13th: Indie Authors Books and More 
Oct 14th: Literary Escapism 
Oct 15th: Lulo Fangirl
Oct 16th: Living in a Bookworld 
Oct 17th: Archaeolibrarian - I dig good books! 
Oct 18th: Metro Detroit Mommy  
Oct 24th: The Cover Contessa 







3 comments:

  1. Sounds like an interesting book. I need a book that is enticing and suspenseful to keep me reading it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like an interesting read!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm always a fan of a good sci-fi book!

    ReplyDelete

Glad you stopped by! Please share your thoughts with me and I will do my best to respond ASAP!